What Price A Dream?

john_lennon_imagine_back-748982

So, after a weekend of hustling to keep my campaign moving full steam ahead, it became clear to me that I need to clarify something for some of my readers.

I have not been officially selected by New York City Opera to be a candidate for the directorship of the company.

I am running a guerrilla campaign–from the outside–to take over the directorship of the company.

I feel the need to clarify this because I have received some comments from friends, and from people new to the cause, that lead me to believe that the farcical/irreverent side of what I’m doing doesn’t always read, to everyone, the way I intend it, which is to serve as entertainment while pushing forward serious ideas and perspectives. So I’ve devised a little auto-Q&A to help nail down a few things.

1. Am I running to be the director of the New York City Opera? Yes.

2. Is it a position one normally runs for, or even applies for in a conventional sense? No.

3. Have I ever run a major performing arts institution? No.

4. Do I believe I am capable of running a major performing arts institution? Absolutely.

5. Have I tried to contact those who are in charge of finding a new director? Yes.

6. Have they returned my communications? No.

7. Am I serious about running for the directorship of the New York City Opera? Yes.

8. Do I think it’s possible for me to become the director of the New York City Opera? Hell yes.

9. Do I think it’s a long shot that I will become the director of the New York City Opera? Probably, but that won’t stop me from trying.

10. Do I sometimes use irreverent language that some might construe as unprofessional? Well yes, but that’s my schtick. That has always been my schtick on Counter Critic. And that will continute to be my schtick on Counter Critic.

11. Do I believe wholeheartedly in the ideas I have put forth for a New York City Opera recovery? Yes. As I believe wholeheartedly in all the ideas I have put forth on this website for over a year and a half.

12. Do I believe that opera needs to be reformed in order to survive and thrive in the future? Yes.

13. Do I believe we deserve to live in a culture that promotes the creation of new opera? Yes.

14. Do I believe we deserve to live in a culture that promotes young composers to create and stage new opera works? Yes.

15. Do I believe we deserve to live in a culture that provides opportunities for classically trained musicians to utilize their talents in a variety of ways? Yes!

16. Do I believe it is possible to achieve all of these things. Yes. Yes. Yes.

What I have been doing on this website has gotten us quite far. People are listening. We’re creating a new paradigm in which to discuss and create opera. This is major shit here, and I’m not going to back off if my use of irreverence and profanity makes some people instantly turn up their nose.

Anyone can discuss opera. Anyone can make opera. It isn’t precious. It isn’t, or rather, it shouldn’t be rare.

This is a revolution. And if we can make that revolution happen from the top down, then more power to all of us.

If, however, leading this revolution from the ground up is what’s necessary to make this change real, then so be it.

There will be many who do not think this is possible. Who see it as a dream; and for some, I’m sure, a bad dream.

But some people said this about my decision to move to New York, and here I am almost ten years later, and totally kicking ass.

Some people said this about my choice to be a composer, and here I am, writing music and making it happen.

Some people said this about my desire to create an opera company made up of all kinds of creative artists who would collaborate on new opera works. And here we are, almost three years later, having already had some wonderful successes, and still making new work.

And, of course, some people said this about this little old blog. And here it is, kicking and screaming, and on the verge of revolutionizing opera as we know it.

Not bad.

As my invaluable campaign manager, Michael Hart, said to me the other day: Humans are here to dream and to make things. That’s it.

That is it. And that’s what this is all about.

BACK TO CAMPAIGN HEADQUARTERS

3 Comments

  1. This is neat stuff, Ryan, and I like the auto Q&A! Keep rocking the dream, brother – you’re the real deal, I think. Maybe too real for the man to handle! :)

  2. Right On!

  3. Keep dreaming…
    Keep making things…
    Get your head in the clouds….
    Let clouds come out of your head…

    It is professional to dream…

    It is professional to make your own dreams come true…


Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

